Tim Davis and Steve Miller: Velvet Side of Hell

Steve Miller Band, with Tim Davis, center, in hat.

And now I spend my life
On the velvet side of hell
Aimlessly here searching
For what I cannot tell

The quietness is terrible
It’s more than I can stand

…Tomorrow’s come
A long, long way
To help you
Yes, it’s your saving grace

Before Steve Miller had so many hits in the mid-1970s and early 1980s (particularly in 1976 and 1977), he had a smaller, though very dedicated audience. He also had a drummer, Tim Davis, who would do the vocals from time to time. “Your Saving Grace” was the title song to Miller’s fourth album, which Davis both wrote and sang:

Davis’ career in music was cut short by diabetes, which eventually killed him, at the age of 44. Steve Miller regarded Davis’ association as dividing the eras of the Steve Miller Band; with Davis and post-Davis.

Sometimes people are remembered, and sometimes surprisingly less so. Despite his notability, Davis had no Wikipedia page. I started one. As is often the case, much more than at first imagined.
__________________________________________________________________
Postscript, December 24, 2011: When starting the Wikipedia profile of Tim Davis, I discovered that he had only been with the Steve Miller Band for three years, from the time of its founding, in 1967, to 1970. However, during the two year period of 1968-1970, the band released five albums, two per year in 1968 and 1969. I recall hearing a Toronto radio interview with Steve Miller in the late 1970s. He was asked about Tim Davis. I was shocked to discover that, even at that young age (Davis would have been in his mid-30s), he was in a wheechair. As Miller said, “he lost both his legs to sugar diabetes”. Davis appeared to be living the latter part of his life off his royalties from the numerous “greatest hits” reissues of Steve Miller material. In addition, in 1984, he contributed two songs, co-written with Miller, to the Steve Miller Band’s Italian X-Rays album. Never forgotten by Steve Miller.

About brucelarochelle

http://www.lmslawyers.com/bruce-la-rochelle
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tim Davis and Steve Miller: Velvet Side of Hell

  1. Art says:

    Hey I’m glad you made a Wikipedia page for Tim. I had always wondered what happened to him and am saddened he died so young. He was a great drummer and a good singer. After he left, I found that the band’s music went downhill fast, despite being more popular.

  2. Ace says:

    I’ve always loved this song since I first heard it on my copy of Steve Miller’s Anthology album. I had always assumed it was written by Miller, so I’m very surprised to to find out that it’s a Tim Davis composition. The lyrics always had a very Hendrix like sound to me, spacey and sophisticated. Sorry to hear of Tim Davis’ way too early demise. I guess my favorite Steve Miller song really isn’t a Steve Miller song !!!

  3. Catchy tune, no? From a well-loved LP which I haven’t heard since the 70s. I remember the musical “schism” that occurred with, what was it, The Joker? I liked the earlier version of the band. Thanks for all the history of Tim Davis and his untimely demise. And on behalf of all the Earlier Version of The Steve Miller Band afficionadi out there, thanks for creating Wiki page for Tim Davis!

Leave a comment