Way to Friendship

From The Taliban Shuffle (2010) by Kim Barker, in relation to attending with Farouq, her guide and translator, a 2004 election rally for Hamid Karzai:

“Why are you laughing?” interrupted a hepped-up, sunglassed Afghan security guard, stepping in front of Farouq. “I will call someone and have you taken away.”

Farouq, never one to step down from a confrontation, looked at the man.

“I’m just doing my job.”

The Afghan guard swatted my notebook and shoved Farouq.

“I will kill you,” he said.

…The guard told us to go away, but we couldn’t move…

(In another example of how complicated Afghanistan is, this violent exchange caused Farouq and the security guard to become lifelong friends.)

About brucelarochelle

http://www.lmslawyers.com/bruce-la-rochelle
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment