One Day, I Knew

Neil Remington Abramson commented as follows:

I know that some people do report the bright light and hear God’s voice, as parts of their conversion experience. You asked me if there was a moment like that for me and were, I think, disappointed when I thought not. I think I left you with the idea that it was more intellectual, but that isn’t really true. It was more a feeling, or maybe a knowing that came upon me after a long struggle of trying to reduce it to intellectual gamesmanship.

As for others’ bright lights, appearances, and voices, it is not for me to judge. Saul was struck blind because he couldn’t or wouldn’t see. I, however, imagine all these signs as metaphorical.

We all live our lives of everydayness with its predictable thoughts, events, outcomes and interpretations. God is all around us, trying to get our attention, but we generally – most people – don’t see Him because we think He is not there. He’s really got to try His best, and even then we might not see.

The conversion experience is when God’s kingdom breaks through into the everydayness to prove the latter to be the illusion. But then you still have to remember, and persuade yourself it wasn’t a daydream, or too much booze.

So what about me? In the Jungian personality typology stuff there is one attitude/function intimately connected to the collective unconscious. I guess those people, known as Introverted Intuitors, aren’t as committed to the solidity or inevitability of what we ordinarily see in our ordinary daily lives. They receive intuitions from beyond their personal consciousness. often enough though the process is not in their control. Maybe that’s me, or what happened to me.

I never had an issue with whether there was a world beyond that we all ordinarily live in. I just didn’t know this entity called God, though I could see from time to time that He was knocking on my door. Eventually, I guess I realized I knew Jesus’ voice, and could trust His guidance, and through Him, that of His Father.

So I suppose it was organic. But I didn’t need the theatrics to show me there was a world beyond the world. I knew that. I just didn’t know for a long time that I knew God, or that I was His, and He mine.

One day, I knew. It changed my life. That’s life. What can you do, either way?

Points of orientation

About brucelarochelle

Practising Lawyer and Part-Time University Instructor (Accounting, Commercial Law, Organizational Behaviour); Part-Time Federal Tribunal Member. Non-practising Chartered Professional Accountant (Chartered Accountant and Certified Management Accountant).
This entry was posted in Christianity, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

