Sleep

Scientists have found acute and chronic alcohol consumption interacts with neurotransmitters serotonin, norepinephrine, glutamate, and noradrenaline, although the details of the biochemistry involved is largely a mystery.”

A friend commented as follows:

In January, I decided to see if I could sleep without alcohol. So I quit. Cold turkey. I really almost expected the DTs … But nothing like that happened. A bit of longing, a bit of extra time to fill, a need for something to put in my mouth (as when one quits smoking) … and so I switched to water and fresh fruit. Grapes, wine in a pill, as they say. Every fruit I could get my hand on from oranges to mangoes to anything classed as a fruit. Still eat the fruit … it worked. And I sleep. And I dream in a way that I had forgotten about, as I suppose I really was drinking heavily enough to sedate that effect, except occasionally towards late morning. I amuse myself thinking that I thought at the time what about those beneficial effects of wine, won’t I miss those – of course, then I read that the same beneficial effects could be achieved by eating 6 grapes.

The fruit handles the sugar withdrawal and craving that one gets when quitting drinking; and the fibre in fruit mitigates any bad effects of the sugar in the fruit. Much better than replacing alcohol with pop or juice, for example. And so it goes for now, at least. Now I drink the odd glass of wine here and there and enjoy it immensely. We’ll see how long this lasts.

Prefer the recounting of the personal…

About brucelarochelle

http://www.lmslawyers.com/bruce-la-rochelle
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

