Liquid Train, Long Distance

You don’t need to hear it
But I’m dried up and sick to death of love
If you need to know it
I never really understood that stuff

Oh, hello
Give me missing persons
They say
What is it that you need?
I said
Oh I need her so
She said
You’ve got to stop your pleading

Hearing Elton John’s “This Train Don’t Stop There Anymore” while waiting in line at liquor store; hearing Bernie Taupin’s lyrics carefully for the first time.

In terms of the mood, reminding me of Lowell George and Little Feat’s “Long Distance Love”.

Different take, same mood:

Both songs having a 3 a.m. lamp post feel. Watch the darkness in the light; some buzz that doesn’t do, or go.
_________________________________________________________________
Postscript, December 12, 2011: Found another version of “Long Distance Love” that adds:

About brucelarochelle

http://www.lmslawyers.com/bruce-la-rochelle
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment